#### **FSHS 2021 ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING**

### June 7, 2022

#### Sarasota

FSHS President John Griffis welcomed all attendees.

Secretary Fernando Alferez reported that a quorum of members was present at the beginning of the meeting at 8:44 am.

## Last business meeting minutes approval

Secretary Fernando Alferez sent the report in advance. Gene McAvoy made a motion to approve it, that was seconded by George Fitzpatrick. The motion passed.

## Treasurer's report

Kevin Athearn report was sent in advance. It can be seen here:



TreasurersReport\_An nualMeeting\_220607.

Mark Ritenour made a motion to approve the report and Ed Etxeberria seconded it. Motion passed.

## President's report

John Griffis gave the report. He presented a survey regarding FSHS activities to all members that was distributed in the room to all attendants.

He announced that AMC Source will be working with FSHS on organizing the annual meeting and managing the Society from now on.

Lisa Hickey made a motion to approve the President's report and Xin Zhao second it. Motion was approved.

## **Editor's report**

Mary Lamberts said that she has talked to Sylvia DeMar for her to continue being the FSHS Proceedings editor. They are developing a contract so she can continue being the editor of the Proceedings. Mary emphasized that scientific notes should be limited to 700 words, if not, extra charges may apply. ASHS is revising how the citations are going to be done, including journal abbreviations standards. She emphasized that the deadline for submissions is at the meeting, and it has been like this for more than 100 years. Now, it is at the end of the month.

Craig Campbell made a motion and Mark Ritenour seconded it. Motion passed.

### **Program coordinator report**

German Sandoya sent his report in advance. It can be seen here:



Program Coordinator Report 06072022.doc

He highlighted that the fact that we had an annual meeting in October and another one in June, due to the COVID pandemic adjustments, resulted in that some sections got less submissions.

He also thanked all the sectional VPs for the work performed during the year and at the Conference that was instrumental for the success of this edition.

Some discussion followed on why we did not have a printed program this year. John Griffis explained that flexibility was a reason for this because of the current situation with COVID, but this may change in the future. Craig Campbell made the comment that the Society has been in shaking ground in the last few years, but thanks to the work of the Board and volunteers, the Society continues with better health and stronger.

Carlene Chase made a motion to approve the report and Jim Syvertsen seconded it. Motion passed.

# Student oral presentation awards.

Xin Zhao presented the awards.

Best Oral Presentation Award	Student Name	Presentation Title	Department
		External and internal fruit quality	
		assessment using deep learning	Soil, Water, and Ecosystem
First Place	Perseveranca Mungofa	semantic image segmentation	Sciences
		Investigating the prevalence of	
		Salmonella and E. coli in Florida's	
		soil and identifying key	
Second Place	Clara Diekman	environmental factors	Food Science and Human Nutrition
		Exploring heat tolerance in the	
		UF/IFAS lettuce germplasm for	
Third Place	Hannah Mather	early season production	Horticultural Sciences
		Assessing anaerobic soil disinfestation for production of	
Third Place	Isaac Vincent	baby spinach in organic open-field and high-tunnel systems	Horticultural Sciences

## **Poster competition**

The awards were presented by Lisa Hickey

#1	Dominick Padilla	Toward Developing a Specialty Pepper (Capsicum annuum) Breeding Line with Bacterial Spot Resistance and Improved Fruit Quality Traits
#2	Anna Goebel	Success Rate of Propagation by Cuttins in American Beautyberry (Callicarp americana)
#3	Josue Saint Fort	Evaluation of Micro-sprinkler Irrigation for Reducing Water Use During Strawberry Establishment and Frost Protection in Florida

## **Nomination Committee**

Ed Etxeberria was the Chairman of the Committee this year

**Election of Officers** 

Incoming Sectional VP-elects for 2023 will be:

John Chater	Citrus
David Austin	Ornamental, Garden, and Landscape
Leslie Nicole Munroe	Agroecology and Natural Resources

Muhammad Adnan Shahid	Krome Memorial Institute
Adrian Berry	Handling and Processing
Alex Bolques	Vegetable

Richard Campbell was elected member-at-large for 2 more years.

FSHS Newsletter Editor will be Alicia Lamborn for a second term.

Marketing coordinator will be John Griffis as we are in a transition period, until we have a new one.

Membership coordinator, we will have a team instead one person; they will be Ali Sarkhosh and Davie Kadyampakeni.

President elect will be Ute Albrecht.

Gene McAvoy made a motion to accept the slate of nominees by acclamation and second by Carlene Chase. Motion was approved.

On an additional note, Carlene Chase commented that arrangements for projectors should be better made so they are onsite and sessions are not delayed for projector setup. John Griffis said that the problem is that if the hotel makes the arrangements that will be a extra cost, so at this moment this task relies on VPs.

Next, Noris Ledesma stepped down as Chair of the FSHS BoD, and President John Griffis became Chair; then, President-elect Alan Chambers became the President, and Ute Albrecht became the President-elect. Finally, John Griffis passed the gavel to Alan Chambers.

Carlene Chase made a motion to adjourn the 2022 annual business meeting and Wendy Musoline seconded.

John Griffis adjourned the meeting at 9:37am.

Respectfully submitted by Fernando Alferez, Secretary.